The 6 best Sharesight alternatives for Canadian investors (2026)

Most Canadians who leave Sharesight do it over the price: the free plan stops at 10 holdings, sold ones included, and a household with several registered accounts needs one of the bigger plans. The right alternative depends on which part of Sharesight you actually used.

Contents

Sharesight is good at what it does, and you'd give some of it up. It supports 14 Canadian brokers through a direct connection, trade-confirmation emails or a file upload, brings in dividends, DRIPs and splits on its own, and its Canadian capital gains report follows the ACB method under CRA rules. It also prices in Canadian dollars, which most of its competitors don't. If you use those reports and the price works for you, staying is reasonable.

We make Looniee, one of the products below. We've ranked it third for the typical Sharesight leaver, and each entry says what it does better than us.

Ranked for a Canadian investor leaving Sharesight over price or plan limits
ProductBest forPrice
1. Snowball Analyticsa synced performance and dividend tracker for lessFree; Starter US$7.99/mo or US$79.99/yr
2. AdjustedCostBase.cacapital gains and ACB at tax time, for freeFree (2 portfolios); Premium $49/yr (currency not stated)
3. Looniee Oursa household's registered-account room on one planFree; Plus CA$72/yr
4. Wealthicasynced Canadian accounts, banks includedFrom $6.25/mo or $50/yr (currency not stated); no free plan listed
5. Greenlinea free no-login tracker with ACB and an iPhone appFree during beta; paid plans not announced
6. WealthWisea bilingual Canadian tracker with data hosted in CanadaFree; Essential CA$4.99/mo (beta price)

01Snowball Analytics

Best for a synced performance and dividend tracker for less

Price
Free (1 portfolio, 10 holdings, no broker linking). Starter US$7.99/mo or US$79.99/yr; Investor US$14.99/mo or US$149.99/yr; Expert US$24.99/mo or US$249.99/yr. “All prices are in USD.” 14-day trial, no card.
How data gets in
Broker linking on paid plans (its pages name Yodlee and SnapTrade), broker-report and CSV import
Holdings limit
Free: 1 portfolio, 10 holdings. Starter: unlimited holdings in 1 portfolio

The nearest like-for-like move. Snowball tracks performance (including IRR), benchmarks and dividends, with broker linking from its Starter plan up. Its Canada page covers TSX holdings, RRSPs and TFSAs in Canadian dollars, and its help centre has import guides for Wealthsimple and Questrade.

Its Starter plan has no holdings cap, which is the limit most people hit on Sharesight. The catch is currency: Snowball is a French company and its prices are in US dollars, so the cost moves with the exchange rate.

Good

  • Starter plan has unlimited holdings
  • Dividend calendar, yield on cost and a dividend rating
  • 14-day trial with no card

Not so good

  • Priced in USD
  • Canadian capital gains (ACB) reporting isn't documented
  • Starter covers one portfolio; more need a higher plan

02AdjustedCostBase.ca

Best for capital gains and ACB at tax time, for free

Price
Basic is $0 a year: ACB and capital gains, 2 portfolios, foreign currency, superficial-loss tracking, Excel/CSV export. Premium is $49 a year (currency not stated): 10 portfolios, spreadsheet import, brokerage connection, a T1135 assistant and T3 previews.
How data gets in
Typing on the free plan; spreadsheet import (templates for Questrade, RBC, Scotia iTRADE, TD and Wealthsimple) and brokerage connection on Premium
Superficial losses
Superficial-loss tracking on the free plan

If you opened Sharesight mainly to get a capital gains number for your return, this is the specialist. AdjustedCostBase.ca has done one job since 2010: adjusted cost base and capital gains for Canadian investors. The free plan covers two portfolios, foreign currency and superficial-loss tracking, and exports to Excel or CSV.

It isn't a portfolio tracker. There are no performance charts or dividend calendars, and on the free plan you type transactions in yourself. Spreadsheet import, broker connection and a T1135 assistant are on Premium.

Good

  • ACB, capital gains and superficial losses for free
  • Built for Canadian ACB and capital gains, running since 2010
  • Premium adds spreadsheet import and a T1135 assistant

Not so good

  • Not a portfolio or performance tracker
  • Typing transactions by hand on the free plan
  • Premium price currency isn't stated

03LoonieeOurs

Best for a household's registered-account room on one plan

Price
Free for 3 accounts, 10 holdings, 500 transactions, no card. Plus is CA$9/mo, or CA$72/yr (CA$6/mo), with a 3-day Plus trial, card required.
How data gets in
Broker CSV/Excel import, AI screenshot import, or typing. Never a bank login
TFSA and RRSP
Room engines for TFSA, RRSP, FHSA and RESP, per person

This is ours. Sharesight counts a portfolio as roughly one tax entity, so a couple with a TFSA and an RRSP each is looking at four portfolios and its Standard plan. Looniee Plus covers up to 6 people, each with their own accounts and their own TFSA, RRSP, FHSA and RESP room worked out from CRA rules.

It never connects to a broker. You import the CSV or Excel file your broker lets you download, upload a screenshot or type holdings. It's free for 3 accounts, 10 holdings, 500 transactions, and Plus is CA$9/mo, or CA$72/yr (CA$6/mo). Average-cost ACB, a capital gains report and superficial-loss flags are part of Plus.

Good

  • Per-person room engines for TFSA, RRSP, FHSA and RESP
  • One Plus plan covers a household of up to 6
  • No bank or broker login

Not so good

  • Nothing updates automatically; you import or type new trades
  • Web only and English only
  • Capital gains tools are newer than Sharesight's, and Plus only

04Wealthica

Best for synced Canadian accounts, banks included

Price
Connect $6.25/mo or $50/yr (3 core Canadian connections); Unlimited Connect $9.99/mo or $75/yr; Premium $19.99/mo or $150/yr; Prestige $29.99/mo or $250/yr. The pricing page doesn't state a currency. 14-day free trial and a 60-day money-back guarantee. No free plan is listed on the pricing page.
How data gets in
Read-only connections through aggregators: 200+ core Canadian institutions, 20,000+ worldwide
Capital gains
Capital Gains report with currency gains and losses, on every plan

Wealthica connects to more than 200 core Canadian institutions, including bank accounts, plus crypto exchanges and wallets. It puts its Capital Gains report on every plan, has family groups, and comes in English and French with iOS and Android apps.

Its pricing page lists four paid plans and no free one, and doesn't state a currency. Wealthica also announced a Registered Contribution Tracker in 2022; its pages don't say whether it calculates CRA room.

Good

  • Automatic sync across 200+ Canadian institutions
  • Capital gains report on every plan
  • English and French, with mobile apps

Not so good

  • No free plan listed
  • Connections can break, like any aggregator's
  • Pricing page doesn't state a currency

05Greenline

Best for a free no-login tracker with ACB and an iPhone app

Price
“$0 during Beta”, no card, unlimited holdings. Paid plans will come “at launch, with monthly and annual options”, and early members are promised better rates.
How data gets in
PDF, spreadsheet or screenshot upload (verified parsers for named brokers, an AI parser for the rest), or typing. No bank connection
TFSA and RRSP
Tracks TFSA, RRSP, FHSA and RDSP room from a starting room you confirm, then your contributions

Greenline is Canadian, never connects to a bank, and is free with unlimited holdings while it's in beta. It does ACB (including DRIPs and splits), shows a dividend timeline of past and upcoming payouts, reads PDF statements and screenshots, and has an iOS app.

It's young. Paid pricing hasn't been announced, partner sharing isn't available yet, and its FAQ says full CSV export is “on the way”.

Good

  • Free during the beta, unlimited holdings
  • ACB and a dividend timeline
  • Reads PDF statements; iOS app

Not so good

  • Future pricing unknown
  • No full data export yet
  • No broker sync, by design

06WealthWise

Best for a bilingual Canadian tracker with data hosted in Canada

Price
Free (1 portfolio; “account limit applies” to assets). Essential CA$4.99/mo or CA$49/yr (3 portfolios, 50 assets each); Premium CA$9.99/mo or CA$99/yr (unlimited, FIRE projections, AI analysis). “Beta prices in Canadian dollars, subject to offer availability.” Eligible accounts can activate 14 days of Premium after confirming their email, no card.
How data gets in
CSV/Excel import or manual entry; an optional read-only broker connection through SnapTrade (“connections depend on the institutions available”)
TFSA and RRSP
Not documented. RRSP, TFSA, FHSA, RRIF and RESP are tracked as separate accounts

WealthWise is a newer Canadian tracker, labelled beta, in English and French, with its data hosted in Canada. It tracks RRSP, TFSA, FHSA, RRIF and RESP accounts separately and adds FIRE projections on Premium. An optional read-only broker connection goes through SnapTrade.

Its free plan is one portfolio with an account limit on assets, and paid plans carry beta prices: CA$4.99 a month for Essential, CA$9.99 for Premium.

Good

  • English and French; data hosted in Canada
  • Paid plans from CA$4.99 a month (beta)
  • Optional read-only broker connection

Not so good

  • Labelled beta, with list and beta prices side by side
  • Capital gains reporting isn't documented as a feature
  • Sync is Premium only

Why people look for an alternative

Sharesight has 613 Trustpilot reviews averaging 3.9 (read October 1, 2026), and the recent reviews are mostly positive. The one- and two-star reviews from June to October 2026 come back to a few themes. Most of those reviewers are Australian, so treat this as a small, skewed sample:

  • Price, and increases. Reviewers mention the price level and yearly increases. On the Canadian site, Starter is CA$12 a month or CA$9 a month billed yearly, for one portfolio and 30 holdings.
  • The free plan's limits. It allows 10 holdings and counts sold positions toward them. A 2023 r/PersonalFinanceCanada comment put it plainly: "being limited to 10 holdings is a pain, and the upgrades plans are way too expensive."
  • Tax reports behind the paywall. The capital gains report starts on Starter.
  • Support and imports. Some reviewers describe slow, email-only support and friction importing CSV files.

Moving your history over

Your broker is the cleanest source of your history: export the full transaction history from each broker and import that into the new tracker, so nothing depends on how one tracker summarised it. For Looniee: how to export from Wealthsimple and how to export from Questrade. Keep last year's Sharesight capital gains report until your return is assessed.

Questions

What is the best free alternative to Sharesight in Canada?
For capital gains alone, AdjustedCostBase.ca's free plan covers two portfolios with superficial-loss tracking. For tracking, Greenline is free with unlimited holdings during its beta, WealthWise one portfolio (its asset limit isn't stated), Snowball 10 holdings, and Looniee 3 accounts, 10 holdings and 500 transactions with contribution room included.
Which alternative has a Canadian capital gains (ACB) report?
AdjustedCostBase.ca is built for it. Wealthica includes a Capital Gains report on every plan, Greenline does ACB, and Looniee has average-cost ACB pooled across non-registered accounts with superficial-loss flags on Plus. Snowball and WealthWise don't document Canadian ACB reporting.
Is there a cheaper Sharesight alternative for a couple?
A couple with a TFSA and an RRSP each would need Sharesight's Standard plan (4 portfolios) at CA$31 a month or CA$23.25 a month billed yearly. Looniee Plus is CA$9/mo, or CA$72/yr (CA$6/mo) for up to 6 people, but it doesn't connect to brokers. See Looniee for couples.
Should I keep Sharesight?
If you trade across several brokers, rely on its connections or email forwarding, and use the capital gains report every spring, probably yes. Its CAD pricing and mature tax reporting are real advantages.

We make Looniee, one of the products above. Every product's prices and features were checked on its own website (earliest check on this page: October 20, 2026). Sharesight and the others change their plans, so confirm before you switch.

See Looniee with sample data before you decide

The live demo is the real dashboard with a sample household: room, holdings, dividends. Nothing to sign up for.

Sources

Looniee wrote this article and makes one of the products it may mention. Looniee is informational software, not financial or tax advice. See the disclaimer.